Del Harris to Receive NABC International Lifetime Achievement Award

Official Release | March 29, 2017

Harris to Receive Award at National Basketball Coaches Association Convention
Phoenix, Arizona Sunday Apr. 2nd, 2017

(Phoenix, Arizona Mar. 29, 2017)

Recognized as one of the most successful coaches in the NBA, the National Association of Basketball Coaches (NABC) International Committee has selected Del Harris to receive the 2017 NABC International Lifetime Achievement Award.  This award is given annually at the Final Four/NABC Coaches Convention to honor a coach who has dedicated his life to basketball and set the highest standard for supporting the mission of building bridges across the International coaching community to grow basketball across borders.   The Award will be presented at the NABC International Coaches Forum Sunday Apr. 2nd.

Del has not only had an illustrious career as an NBA Head Coach with the Houston Rockets, Los Angeles Lakers and Milwaukee Buck but has been an integral part of developing basketball around the world through Coaching stops in Puerto Rican Superior League, and on the bench in FIBA World Championships and Olympic games for the National Teams including the USA, Canada, China and the Dominican Republic.

Coach Harris has been recognized on numerous occasions for his contributions to the game including the prestigious Jerry Colangelo Award at the 2010 NBA All-Star game by Athletes in Action for this character and contributions on and off the court and in 2014 received the John Wooden Keys to Life Award presented by AIA and the Fellowship of Christian Athletes at the Final Four in Dallas.


Past Winners of the NABC International Lifetime Achievement Award

  • 2007- Atlanta- The Naismith Family (Canada), Moose Woltzen (USA) George Killian (USA)
  • 2008- San Antonio- no award presented
  • 2009- Detroit – Dusan Ivkovic (Serbia)
  • 2010- Indianapolis- Julio Lamas (Argentina)
  • 2011- Houston- Dr. Dick Schultz (USA)
  • 2012- New Orleans- Dr. Gary Cunningham (USA) Patrick Hunt (Australia)
  • 2013- Atlanta- Ranko Zeravića (Serbia)
  • 2014- Dallas- Herb Brown (USA)
  • 2015- Indianapolis- Lanny Van Eman (USA)
  • 2016- Houston-  Jim Baron (USA)
  • 2017- Phoenix- Del Harris (USA)

About the National Association of Basketball Coaches

Located in Kansas City, MO, the NABC was founded in 1927 by Forrest “Phog” Allen, the legendary basketball coach at the University of Kansas.  Allen, a student of James Naismith, the inventor of basketball, organized coaches into this collective group to serve as Guardians of the Game.  The NABC currently claims nearly 5,000 members consisting primarily of university and college men’s basketball coaches.  All members of the NABC are expected to uphold the core values of being a Guardian of the Game by bringing attention to the positive aspects of the sport of basketball and the role coaches play in the academic and athletic lives of today’s student-athletes.  The four core values of being a Guardian of the Game are advocacy, leadership, service and education.  Additional information about the NABC, its programs and membership, can be found at www.nabc.org.

Related articles